Early-career programs for first- and second-year EE students
Government and national-lab internships and research programs whose official pages list no junior-standing requirement. Each entry was checked on its official page on September 23, 2026; details change, so confirm dates on the official page before you apply.
Programs are sorted by their next dated deadline. Programs we could not verify (the official page did not load, or did not state eligibility and timing) are left out on purpose. Know one that belongs here? Suggest it.
September 30, 2026 · Spring 2027 term
U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science (Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists)
- Deadlines
- Spring 2027 term: September 30, 2026, 5:00 p.m. ET. Fall 2026 applications are closed.
- Who can apply
- Undergraduate students and recent graduates majoring in a STEM field or science policy. The official page lists the full eligibility rules.
- Class year
- The page does not set a minimum class year.
- Format
- 10-week summer internship (May to August) or a semester (August to December, or January to May).
- Pay
- Paid internship.
- Checked
- Verified on the official page on September 23, 2026.
September 30, 2026 · Spring 2027 term
U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science (Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists)
- Deadlines
- Spring 2027 term: September 30, 2026, 5:00 p.m. ET. Fall 2026 applications are closed.
- Who can apply
- Community college students. The official page links to the detailed eligibility requirements.
- Class year
- For students enrolled at community colleges.
- Format
- Internship managed by the DOE Office of Science.
- Pay
- Paid internship.
- Checked
- Verified on the official page on September 23, 2026.
About January 31, 2027 (end of January 2027; exact date not yet posted) · Summer 2027
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
- Deadlines
- Applications are due at the end of January 2027. NIST expects the USAJOBS vacancy announcement to open in mid-October 2026.
- Who can apply
- Full-time undergraduates at accredited two- or four-year U.S. colleges who are U.S. citizens or U.S. permanent residents and at least 18 years old. First-year undergraduates and graduating seniors are eligible.
- Class year
- The page states that first-year undergraduates are eligible.
- Format
- 11-week summer research fellowship.
- Pay
- 2026 stipend: $7,810 for 11 weeks ($710 per week), with limited housing and travel support for students who relocate.
- Restrictions
- US person / PR
- Checked
- Verified on the official page on September 23, 2026.
February 26, 2027 · Summer 2027
NASA Office of STEM Engagement
- Deadlines
- Summer 2027: February 26, 2027. Fall 2027: May 21, 2027 (11:59 p.m. ET). The Spring 2027 deadline was September 14, 2026.
- Who can apply
- U.S. citizens, at least 16 years old, with at least a 3.0/4.0 GPA, enrolled full or part time in college (undergraduate through graduate). STEM and non-STEM majors.
- Class year
- No minimum class year is stated. NASA also lists Pathways Internships (U.S. citizens, 2.9 GPA, at least 15 semester hours completed), applied for through USAJOBS.
- Format
- Spring, summer and fall sessions. Applications go through the NASA STEM Gateway.
- Pay
- Most interns receive a stipend based on academic level and session length.
- Restrictions
- US citizen
- Checked
- Verified on the official page on September 23, 2026. Application portal.
No fixed date
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
- Deadlines
- Summer positions are generally posted September through February; phone interviews happen December through April.
- Who can apply
- Community college, undergraduate and graduate students. International students can be eligible; visa sponsorship support varies by position. Selected students complete a federal background check and drug screen.
- Class year
- No minimum class year is stated.
- Format
- Science and engineering internships through internal and external programs.
- Pay
- Not stated on the page we checked.
- Checked
- Verified on the official page on September 23, 2026.
No fixed date
U.S. National Science Foundation
- Deadlines
- Set by each REU site. Students apply to sites directly, not to NSF; use the NSF search to find electrical and computer engineering sites.
- Who can apply
- Undergraduates who are U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals or U.S. permanent residents. The NSF page does not restrict by class year; each site runs its own selection.
- Class year
- Individual sites may prefer certain years; read each site's page.
- Format
- Summer research at a university or lab site funded by NSF.
- Pay
- See each site's page for stipend and housing details.
- Restrictions
- US person / PR
- Checked
- Verified on the official page on September 23, 2026. Application portal.
No fixed date
Sandia National Laboratories (operated for the U.S. Department of Energy)
- Deadlines
- No fixed deadline on the page: apply to current openings. Summer internships run 10 to 12 weeks (typically May to August); co-ops run 3 to 8 months during the academic year.
- Who can apply
- At least 16 years old and enrolled full time (typically 12 units for undergraduates) at an accredited college, university or high school. Minimum 3.0/4.0 GPA for R&D, technical and business positions. U.S. citizenship for positions that require a security clearance or where the posting says so.
- Class year
- No minimum class year is stated.
- Format
- Summer internships, co-ops and year-round internships for local students, plus themed intern institutes.
- Pay
- Paid; the rate depends on credit hours, classification and degree level.
- Restrictions
- Clearance
- Checked
- Verified on the official page on September 23, 2026.